Lord of the Rings Movies in Order: Watch Order Guide

Lord of the Rings Movies in Order
Spread the love

In the middle-earth world of J.R.R. Tolkien, there are in total 6 movies set in it. Amidst it, there are 3 Lord of Rings movies and 3 Hobbit movies in order to watch. All these series of films are fantastic, and even the storyline will amaze the viewers.

So, if one is willing to watch it all, one optimal way to do so is to follow the below-mentioned article and get the sequence of it all. Believe it, no time is better than now to spend some time watching or re-watching these Hobbit and Lord of the Rings movies. 

However, before you go ahead, it is an early warning that you might get a bit of a spoiler of the movie. So, be prepared as this article has been prepared to provide complete information about the Lord of the Rings movies in order to watch. That can help the viewers to watch it in the right order.

Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies: Release Order

lord of the rings release order
lord of the rings release order

As said above, there are 6 movies combining the Hobbit and Lord of Rings. However, one must note that as the Hobbit movies directly foreshadow the LotR events, there are some scenes in it that can easily ruin the series of Lord of the Rings. But even after this, as a 1st-time watcher of it all, you might not pay that attention to it, and therefore, we would suggest that you go by the release order.

One can watch this series of movies in order. Be it chronologically or in the release order but just make sure you do not make any kind of mistake by choosing amidst them. Just make sure to start today with the hobbit movies in order and have a great time.

In order to get details of the release order of the movies, look at the below-mentioned release order list.

  • The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring (2001)
  • The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (2002)
  • The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (2003)
  • The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (2012)
  • The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (2013)
  • The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies (2014)

Also Read:- Right Order to Watch Jesse Stone Movies

Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit Movies: Chronological order

lord of the rings order
lord of the rings order

Well, herein presented is the list of the movies in the correct sequence, i.e., the chronological order. So, if you wish to watch it all in sequence, follow the lead given below, as this is one of the best approaches for catching up to the storyline in the right sequence. Rest assured, you will have a great time.

1. The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (2012)

This comes first in the list of hobbit movies in order that has been based on the novel of J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit. The story takes us 60 years before the Lord of the Rings events in middle-earth. It brings forward the unexpected chronicles of the journey, the Bilbo Baggins narrative, who got persuaded for enlisting the 13 dwarves that were headed by the Thorin Oakenshield for the mission of recapturing Lonely Mountain from a dragon named Smaug, by Wizard Gandalf. 

So, anyone who has finally made up the mind to watch the trilogy begins with The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey as it will help understand all of the plots.

2. The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (2013)

It was on the way to Laketown when the Hobbit, Bilbo Baggins, along with his buddies, endured many challenges. They then arrive at the lonely mountain, and it is here that Bilbo finally gets to meet Smaug, who is the terrifying monster.

One can also find the vindictive chase of the Bolg and Azog, the defiler, featured within the movie while Gandalf the Grey just goes on and explores Dol Guldur remains burgeoning horror.

3. The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies (2014)

In the 3-part movie adaptation in Peter Jackson, this amidst the Hobbit movies in order is the 3rd and the final installment. It shows Smaug, the dragon setting ablaze the Laketown, with Bilbo and Dwarves from Lonely Mountain witnessing it all. Further, even Bard escaped imprisonment, and then he is seen using the black arrow to defeat the dragon. Bilbo is then seen battling the foes slew for safeguarding Dwarf companions’ lives and defending Lonely Mountain after the break out of the conflict. 

4. The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (2001)

After the Hobbit Trilogy events, the majority of the Lord of the Rings movies takes place; the ring fellowship serves as the excellent introduction to the middle-earth, the shire, elves, hobbits, and crucially, the One Ring backstory. Frodo, the teenage Hobbit who was in the middle-earth, discovered dark Lord Sauron’s One Ring and then set off along with the 8 companions on to the quest of Mount Doom, the location, the only one wherein the Ring’s destruction was possible.

5. The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (2002)

If you are watching this series then this movie is the 2nd installment in the Lord of the rings order. At the fellowship conclusion, the group gets separated, and therefore, Sam and Frodo are seen proceeding on to the journey to destroy the Ring without the rest of the company. 

The former owner of Ring, Gollum, can also be seen attending the gathering and before the battle began as against Saruman troops evil wizard at the Helm’s Deep Battle, at the war-torn land of the Rohan arrived Aragorn, Gimli, and Legolas.

This is where they get reunited with revived Gandalf. Further, Pippin and Merry managed to encounter treebeard the Ent, elude the captivity, and then assist in invasion planning on the Saruman’s fortress of the Isengard. 

6. The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003) 

The king’s return was acknowledged to be one important and quite influential movie that has been ever produced. The former fellowship members for the decisive slowdown get assembled, while Sam and Frodo reached Mount Doom for the destruction of the One Ring, Gollum is seen leading them all along down the route to which they were ignorant of.

Further, Gandalf guided Gimli, Aragorn, Legolas, and King Théoden to Isengard while continuing War of the Ring, wherein he reunited Pippin and Merry. Gandalf also traveled to the Edoras with the Saruman Palantir, and then the gang celebrated the triumph at the Helm’s Deep.

Also Read:- Find The Right Order to Watch Underworld Movies

Where to watch Lord of the Rings movies in order?

Just in case if you are not sure where exactly to watch the Lord of the rings movies in order, you can easily get it on Amazon. Even though the same isn’t available on Netflix, one can easily find it on Apple TV, HBO Max, YouTube, Hulu, and Starz.

Although in some of the platforms, one might be required to buy the membership but believe it when we say, it is totally worth it, and you for sure can watch many other shows after completing the 6 movies in order. So, do not wait and continue on the journey of the trilogy.

Final Words

For sure, the hobbit movies are quite entertaining; however, they are not as good as the Lord of the Rings movies. There are some of the moments in the Hobbit which ruin the Lord of rings elements because of the Peter Jackson addition to the movies, which directly anticipates the Lord of the Rings occurrences.

In case if you are planning to watch the movies in the release order, you might get a lot of spoilers. However, there do exist many other options for watching, but the plot for sure will be discovered before grasping into what exactly is going on. So, follow any of the above-mentioned “Lord of the Rings in order” guide and try to have a better comprehension by enjoying them all.

Spread the love
Scroll to Top